Home |  Contact Us
News Category:  Club News

Neville Jones Warrington Schools Cross Country League | Saturday 16th November
Last edited: Tuesday November 26th 2019
The results from Saturday 16th November for the second race in the Neville Jones Warrington Schools Cross Country League at Walton Gardens are available below (pdf format).

A big well done to all competitors and hope to see you all at the next race on Saturday 7th December.

(Click here for primary school results)

(Click here for secondary school results)

The second round of the Neville Jones Schools Cross Country League took place at Walton Hall Gardens on Saturday 16th November in dry conditions but due to previous wt weather the underfoot conditions were very muddy.

The day got underway with the Primary Girls race where there was a record turnout of 162 finishers with the win going to Ellie Barker (St Elphin’s) in 7 minutes 45 seconds for her second win from Identical twins Cara and Sinead Gregory (St Monica’s) with times of 8 minutes 10 seconds and 8 minutes 13 seconds respectively.St Monica’s won the team race on 31 points from Broomfields 54 points and Cherry Tree 92 points.
In the Primary Boys race Tyreece Swinton (Broomfields) was the winner for the second time in 7 minutes 11 seconds from Ewan Flannery (Appleton Thorn) 7 minutes 16 seconds and Isaac McGuffie (8 minutes 13 seconds.The team race was won by Cherry Tree on 49 points from Broomfields on 64 points and St Wilfrid’s on 76 points.

In the Year 7 Girls race there was another set of twins at the front with Imogen Wharton (Cardinal Newman) winning from her twin Nia in 11 minutes 58 seconds to 12 minutes 11 seconds for Nia.Third place went to Esme Heavey (Bridgewater) in 12 minutes 30 seconds.The team race was won by Bridgewater on 18 points from Cardinal Newman on 22 points.

In the year 7 Boys race Jack Marwood (Lymm) continued his winning streak with victory in 10 minutes 59 seconds from Matthew Seddon (Cardinal Newman) 11 minutes 32 seconds and Jacob Pryor (King’s Leadership) in 11 minutes 36 seconds.Bridgewater were the only complete team with 26 points.

In the Year 8&9 Girls Alice Nicholson(Great Sankey) won in 12 minutes 05 seconds form Harriet Bell (Bridgewater) 12 minutes 46 seconds and Evie Owen (Beamont) 13 minutes 28 seconds.In the Boys race Alex Rix (Bridgewater) won in 11 minutes 30 seconds from Anthony Madew (Great Sankey) 12 minutes 21 seconds and Kasper Sowiak (Bridgewater) 12 minutes 33 seconds.In the team race no girls team completed while in the boys Bridgewater were the only complete team on 17 points.

In the Year 10 & 11 Girls race there was a battle royal throughout with Jess Connolly (Bridgewater) and Jasmine Jones (Lymm) locked together.Just after halfway Jasmine took the lead and pushed on to try to break away but Jess hung on and with around 250 metres to go closed up and passed Jasmine.Jasmine was not finished yet and fought all the way to the line but Jess held on to win in 11 minutes 36 seconds to win by 1 second.No teams completed and no boys took part in the age group.